Santa Claus is Dead

Let us begin properly by allowing me to assure you that the title does not allude to some kind of punk rock band (though that would be a pretty quaint idea).πŸ™‚

As Christmas draws nigh, unbeknownst to plenty of us, it is not excitement alone that is abound β€” there also exist complaints and condemnations. It is often overlooked, and I shall not complain much about that; ignorance of which does not pick my pockets nor break my bones. Of course, to those who actually pay attention to such issues, I offer my respect. Much as we hate to admit it, thinking of politics is a more respectable deed than chowing down dead turkeys.

Also, this picture is awesome.

A typical Christian may find the idea rather obscene, but indeed Christmas has its own criticisms and/or controversies. These came from all sorts of directions imaginable; everybody’s a critic. With a bone to pick with Christmas.

First, Muslims. Some clerics ruled that to celebrate Christmas is forbidden to a Muslim, as it may cancel his or her creed. This might not seem to be a problem since Muslims are not likely to erect a Christmas tree in their household, but apparently to wish someone a Merry Christmas counts as an offense. Decent Muslims I know have been battling the fundamentalists for years now on this matter, and refuse to consider it to be sinful β€” indeed, in the name of religious tolerance (which Islam is claimed to be a supporter of), these good men and women claimed that it is in fact obligatory. As for me, it is less important as for whether this is scripturally sound. It suffices to me that it promotes peace, and the liberals and moderates hence gained my full support.

But let us end our digression on Muslim attitudes for now β€” after all, it’s “Christ’ Mass”, and Muslims don’t consider Jesus to be Christ, nor do they attend masses.

In short, it is inevitable that just about every other religions, with their own share of fundamentalists (though not of the same percentage), would potentially scorn at the idea of respecting a rival religion’s holiday. And, additionally, criticisms exist too internally; Christians against Christmas! Not against Christmas per se, but indeed Christians do not sing carols in unison and perfect harmony. To start with, the Eastern churches, for example, celebrate Christmas in January β€” a theological dispute, which may or may not incite some sort of ill relationships between denominations. Then there are criticisms on the current form of Christmas; it does not please many right-wing Christians that Christmas is more like a Santa Claus Show nowadays, and some vowed to “purify” the practice (“Keep Christ in Christmas!”).

Atheists β€” and agnostics and deists and pantheists and apatheists and all sorts of freethinkers, are no exception (anybody surprised gets a lifetime supply of ice cream). Apparently, Christopher Hitchens is not too happy with Christmas. Hitchens, a senior journalist renowned for his biting wit, moaned that Christmas is ultimately a “moral and aesthetic nightmare”. Hitchens himself, a member of the famous “Four Horsemen of New Atheism”, is indeed the most bitter of the four. If you took your time to read their books, that should be obvious: Richard Dawkins, while stern on religions, is rather mild on believers; conversely, Sam Harris loves Buddhism and spiritualities despite his fierce (and a little paranoid) stance against right-wing religionists. The third member, Dan Dennett, is the most diplomatic of the bunch. He is meek and mild all the way, playing Devil’s advocate against his own ideas all too carefully. But Hitchens, well, as you can see, is rather hostile to both beliefs and believers.

Returning to the Christmas issue, I must say that while I like Hitchens (his “adventures” are impressive; taking part in things from anti-polio movements in India to Friday prayers in Indonesia), I would beg to differ. And in case you don’t know, even the arch-atheist Richard Dawkins claimed to enjoy singing carols and wishes to preserve religious festivities (plus, I really savor Eid Mubaraks).πŸ˜€

Yes, of course, Christmas, seen culturally, is not all that innocent. It is reasonable to complain about the consumerism. Or, as it is claimed in the United States, the fact that it is religiously insensitive towards the increasingly diverse American communities (respectful concern; why don’t my brothers and sisters Indonesians start the same trend?). But then again, those are not exactly arguments against Christmas itself, and, Hitchens are not exactly talking about such things. His complaints are more about how he sees the solstice as a propaganda: a month-long, inescapable “Dear Leader’s birthday” observance (“and what about the children!?”). Ah, nevertheless, I’d hate to disagree with such an intelligent man, but I think Mr. Hitchens is overreacting. It’s holiday. Fun for all. Warm, feely times. Think of the lovey-dovey couple who waited all year long to go on a vacation together on Christmas, sir, think of the romantic snow-laden confession, think of the kids eager to build their own snowmen, and come, let us sing carols!

So I say we just celebrate. Why so serious? A happy Christmas does me no harm (it does not give me a prostate cancer), in fact, quite the other way around. Hence, whatever your religious view may be, Happy Holidays!

(Or Merry Christmas.)

(Or Good Winter Solstice.)

(Or Bon December 25. Whatever trips your trigger.)

46 thoughts on “Santa Claus is Dead

  1. the title does not allude to some kind of punk rock band

    Your idea is not original, d00d! You get pwnd!

    *halah*

    Why so serious?

    This is teh kwyeord😎

    Happy Holidays!

    No holiday for me T__T

    Ah, BTW I suddenly remember how Christmas is celebrated in I’s:mrgreen:

  2. @ Gunawan Rudy

    Felix Trinidad juga.

    @ lambrtz

    Your idea is not original, d00d! You get pwnd!

    I pwn myself all the time; I dub this exercise “autopwnage”.

    *halah*

    Felix Trinidad!πŸ˜€

  3. Happy Holidays!

    No holiday for me T__T

    we’re the same boat T_T
    ahh… do you work as the day is long, brother? T_T
    and, how if we kick Geddoe to the sea?

  4. And in case you don’t know, even the arch-atheist Richard Dawkins claimed to enjoy singing carols and wishes to preserve religious festivities

    Saya pernah samar-samar dengar beritanya, dan setelah saya cari-cari lagi, ternyata memang benar. Dia bahkan gak segan2 mengucapkan “merry christmas” ke semua orang (sementara banyak orang lain yang berusaha ‘politically correct’ dgn mengucapkan “happy holidays” atau “seasons greetings”).😯

  5. @K. geddoe
    Roy Jones Jr.!πŸ˜€

    @frozen

    and, how if we kick Geddoe to the sea?

    With pleasure…

    *kick Geddoe to the Strait of Malacca*

  6. (anybody surprised gets a lifetime supply of ice cream)

    I’m surprised. Really. From the bottom of my heart.πŸ˜•

    You can’t disprove it. Give me my due.

    So I say we just celebrate. Why so serious? A happy Christmas does me no harm (it does not give me a prostate cancer), in fact, quite the other way around. Hence, whatever your religious view may be, Happy Holidays!

    Ah, and what I truly like from it is because it feels soooo like year-end culture festival.πŸ˜†

    There are Santas, christmas trees, shopping sales, special christmas movies, christmas-themed decorations in malls… And, as in other religious holidays, many girls then switch to be unpredictably pretty. So, Merry Christmas!:mrgreen:

    *digebuk*

  7. Muslims don’t consider Jesus to be Christ

    Correction.

    Muslims do believe that Jesus is Christ. Well, not only that he is Christ, he is also the Christ. He’s called Isa al-Masih in the Qur’an, remember? “Al” in Arabic is “the” in English. I know that this is not that important and irrelevant to the topic, but I think to say something about it. And, yes, it appears that we have posted entries with a similar theme. And I quote your saying, btw. Well, actually, I quoted my quote that you quoted.:mrgreen:

  8. NOBODY COMMENTED ON THE AWESOME PICTURE!!!11

    * * *

    @ frozen

    I sleep during the day.

    @ Catshade

    Ngakunya sih begitu.

    @ lambrtz

    @ sora9n

    Liiieeeessss!

    BTW, I love how shop clerks switch to that miniskirt costumes with Santa Claus cap. Or Reindeer cap. Christmas is good for moetic studies.

    Ergo I LOVE CHRISTMAS.

    @ gentole

    What, al-Masih is really an Islamic term? I thought it’s a transliteration for Indonesian language (calendars said “kenaikan Isa Almasih” after all).πŸ˜•

    That messianic status of Jesus in Islam puzzled me, though. So many special stuff for a single prophet.

    And I quote your saying, btw. Well, actually, I quoted my quote that you quoted.

    I am looking forward for a chance to quote that back. Just so I can say the sophisticated; “I quote this from a quote of someone quoting me quoting someone in one occasion”.

  9. Also, this picture is awesome.

    Die to Virginf*ck*r Santa Claus!! May all Santa go to hell!!😈

    And, additionally, criticisms exist too internally; Christians against Christmas!

    Me!😎

  10. @ K. geddoe

    Liiieeeessss!

    This statement can’t be conclusively proven. Therefore, it’s futile argument.

    Give me that ice cream supply.😎

    BTW, I love how shop clerks switch to that miniskirt costumes with Santa Claus cap. Or Reindeer cap. Christmas is good for moetic studies.

    Yup, yup. =3

  11. @ K.geddoe | Fritzter | Catshade

    Hey.. Hey… guys!:mrgreen:
    Despite all my zionism stuff, I’m still fundie on my protestanism. It’s just… apart from its pagan connection, (celebrating) Christmas is not something scriptural. Jesus never told us to remember his birthday (such as to his crucifixation). & Personally, if I dunno the date my Lord was born, se be it. No need to follow any (church) tradition.:mrgreen:

  12. @ Jensen
    In other words, celebrating Christmas is a heresy?😈

    *Teringat pendapat beberapa pihak yang mengatakan Maulid Nabi itu bid’ah…*

  13. @ Amed (1) | K. geddoe

    In other words, celebrating Christmas is a heresy?😈

    Ugh, it will triggers controversy if say so…:mrgreen:
    Both of you are awesome mindreaders

    @ gentole

    Ugh, Wahabist Christian.:mrgreen:

    Gyahahaha…πŸ˜†
    Okay, keep the conclusion for yourself.:mrgreen:

    @ Amed (2)

    I used to watch Anime where NORAD shot down all the incoming Santas from North Pole with anti-aircraft-missiles because they don’t belong to identified-flying-object database.πŸ˜†
    I worship the animemaker… m(_ _)m

  14. @ gentole

    Oksimoron!

    @ Amed

    Ah, yang itu!πŸ˜† Sayang PD sudah jarang update.πŸ˜›

    @ jensen99

    And what anime would that be?

    @ restlessangel

    Memangnya selain yang di sini, di mana lagi?πŸ˜•

    @ lambrtz

    Guro FTW.

  15. BTW, I love how shop clerks switch to that miniskirt costumes with Santa Claus cap. Or Reindeer cap.

    Speaking of which, I just jumped upon a pr0n site and guess what…the entrance image is an AV id0l wearing red school uniform and Santa cap standing near a Christmas tree:mrgreen:

    They celebrate Christmas too in pr0n businessπŸ˜†

    …nobody is surprised, huh?πŸ˜•

  16. @Lambrtz
    Business is business.., I guess, they celebrate Chinese New Year too haha…

    How if you post an article with “Which event that pr0n site do not celebrate” hehehe…

  17. @ restlessangel

    Gambar yang [ini]?πŸ˜›

    @ lambrtz

    Anybody surprised gets a lifetime supply of ice cream.β„’

    @ CY

    Not Eid Mubarak yet. They like their necks where they are.πŸ˜†

  18. @ K. geddoe

    And what anime would that be?

    Surely I put the title if remember. It was serial, aired on RCTI few years ago. Some kind of magical girl, I guess… CMIIWπŸ˜•
    Sorry, that’s all.😐

    @ restlessangel

    hah, jensen aliran wahabi ??

    Heh, jangan ikut2an!!πŸ‘Ώ πŸ˜†

    @ lambrtz

    …nobody is surprised, huh?πŸ˜•

    Its every year! KMIIW! πŸ˜†

  19. Christmas is just tradition, not scriptural for Christians like jensen99 said. We’re just need some reason so we can take day-off or holiday more in a year:mrgreen:

    Btw, the picture is not awesome. I not with granpa-teens combinationπŸ˜€

  20. And in case you don’t know, even the arch-atheist Richard Dawkins claimed to enjoy singing carols and wishes to preserve religious festivities

    Now that I have been thinking about this…

    *conspiracy theorist mode on*

    …he himself must actually be a Christian!😯
    No other way! All atheism and evolution stuffs that he advocates are bulls**ts!!!!11!1

    *conspiracy theorist mode off*

  21. Nice discussion, for my vacation period I rarely blogwalking.

    Christmas is derived from pagan holiday, all good Christian with a history lesson know that, Jesus actually born somewhere in the Spring or Summer. Jesus didn’t say we have to celebrate Christmas, but we celebrate it anyways. Is it heresy like Jensen said?

    Lets forget it and throw party anyways. Christian needs reason to party, all religious aura in Easter, Ascension and Pentacost are not suitable for partying. So, Christmas is the answer. It is not too religious, and more like cultural celebration.

    And for all I care, let us all send Jensen to Amish community so he can practice his religious belief more effectively!😈

    Santa Claus can be dead, and we can still celebrating Christmas. And don’t forget to kill Easter Bunny too…

  22. oops.. my mistake..
    I should typed “I was born at December 26th”. Wait a minute.. That doesn’t sound correct either.

    Okay.. I give up.

  23. @ dnial

    And for all I care, let us all send Jensen to Amish community so he can practice his religious belief more effectively!😈

    Amish Zionist? or Amish Blogger?πŸ˜• No F*ck*n’ way my bro, as both pairs are oxymoron, therefore your plan is contradictory & impossible too.:mrgreen:

  24. Pingback: Christmas & me « JenSen99's Weblog

Comments are closed.